none
Cannot view PWA site (created on hosted virtual machine) on remote browser on my PC (but can view it on VM)! RRS feed

Answers

  • Hi Sara,

    Microsoft Virtual Lab is for learning purpose and works  only for specific time, once time is elapsed , system will reset.
    Anything inside the virtual machine is not accessible from outside world.


     If you are looking for Demo image, you should be downloading demo image for Project server from here
    http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?displaylang=en&id=27417
    Only for Project Server you can use 2010-10a files only.


    Hrishi Deshpande – Senior Consultant DeltaBahn
    Blog | < | LinkedIn
    Please click Mark As Answer; if a post solves your problem or Vote As Helpful; if a post has been useful to you

    Thursday, August 23, 2012 2:49 PM
    Moderator
  • Hi Sara,

    As Hrishi said, that will be a self contained environment and not accessible externally.

    Thanks

    Paul


    Paul Mather | Twitter | http://pwmather.wordpress.com

    • Marked as answer by Sara2010 Friday, August 24, 2012 3:45 PM
    Thursday, August 23, 2012 4:32 PM
    Moderator
  • You can configure the site to be accessed via internet. e.g You can configure this demo image on your home system and when you travel you can connect to the server either using RDP or using AAM configuration with appropriate DNS configuration, of course with proper security measures.

    Yes, these images are hyper V images with Sp1 and you need Windows 2008 R2 with SP1. For hyper V you need Virtualization enabled CPU

    Demo image is valid for 180 days with lots of great web parts, reports and data which helps to provide actual insight what Project Server is capable of. Often after watching is demo, response from the audience is “that is exactly what we are looking for”


    Hrishi Deshpande – Senior Consultant DeltaBahn
    Blog | < | LinkedIn
    Please click Mark As Answer; if a post solves your problem or Vote As Helpful; if a post has been useful to you

    Thursday, August 23, 2012 6:36 PM
    Moderator

All replies

  • Hi there,

    To answer this we will need to understand more about you environment. You say the VM is hosted, is this hosted externally? Do you remote desktop to the server? Is this via publiC IP address etc.? When you say you can't access PWA on a browser locally, what error do you get? 404? From your local machine, can you ping the fist part of the URL. For example http://server1/pwa, can you ping and get a response from server1 ?

    Thanks

    Paul


    Paul Mather | Twitter | http://pwmather.wordpress.com

    Thursday, August 23, 2012 11:56 AM
    Moderator
  • Hi Paul,

    It's Microsofts own Project Server hosting  - TechNet Virtual Lab: Microsoft Enterprise Project Management - Project and Portfolio Management with Project 2010...

    https://cmg.vlabcenter.com/default.aspx?moduleid=e60cc540-c1a4-4205-a9a0-a6a3c03489fb


    The default project web app for the lab  - ping request could not find host http://project.contoso.com (for http://project.contoso.com/PWA/default.aspx) and the IE message below. 

    This is the same for the PWA I created following the exercise referred to http://rollyperreaux.com/2010/04/how-to-create-a-new-pwa-instance-on-the-project-server-2010-beta-vm-image-graphical-step-by-step/

    I think I'm being really silly here - is this lab not designed to allow PWA site setup to demonstrate external access like this? As this is one of the MS Project Server download options I assumed the hosted virtual machine version would have pretty much the same capabilities as the downloaded virtual machine version: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-US/evalcenter/ee410540.aspx

    Thanks Paul I am quite new to this...:) 

    Sara

    Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage

     
     

    What you can try:

     



    <id id="errorExpl1">This problem can be caused by a variety of issues, including:</id>

    • Internet connectivity has been lost.
    • The website is temporarily unavailable.
    • The Domain Name Server (DNS) is not reachable.
    • The Domain Name Server (DNS) does not have a listing for the website's domain.
    • There might be a typing error in the address.
    • If this is an HTTPS (secure) address, click Tools, click Internet Options, click Advanced, and check to be sure the SSL and TLS protocols are enabled under the security section.

    sara






    • Edited by Sara2010 Thursday, August 23, 2012 1:18 PM
    Thursday, August 23, 2012 12:24 PM
  • Hi Sara,

    Microsoft Virtual Lab is for learning purpose and works  only for specific time, once time is elapsed , system will reset.
    Anything inside the virtual machine is not accessible from outside world.


     If you are looking for Demo image, you should be downloading demo image for Project server from here
    http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?displaylang=en&id=27417
    Only for Project Server you can use 2010-10a files only.


    Hrishi Deshpande – Senior Consultant DeltaBahn
    Blog | < | LinkedIn
    Please click Mark As Answer; if a post solves your problem or Vote As Helpful; if a post has been useful to you

    Thursday, August 23, 2012 2:49 PM
    Moderator
  • Hi Sara,

    As Hrishi said, that will be a self contained environment and not accessible externally.

    Thanks

    Paul


    Paul Mather | Twitter | http://pwmather.wordpress.com

    • Marked as answer by Sara2010 Friday, August 24, 2012 3:45 PM
    Thursday, August 23, 2012 4:32 PM
    Moderator
  • Paul/Hrisha,

    Thank you for confirming that - I confess I was beginning to bang my head against a wall...

    Would the same limitations also apply to the Microsoft Project Server 2010 virtual machine download ( http://technet.microsoft.com/en-US/evalcenter/ee410540.aspx )?

    Is that why you have opted to recommend the 2010 Information Worker Demonstration and Evaluation Virtual Machine (SP1)?

    I ask because I am not running Windows Server 2008 R2 - is this a requirement for the 2010 Information Worker Demonstration and Evaluation Virtual Machine (SP1) or am I misreading that? 

    System requirements

    Supported operating systems: Windows Server 2008 R2


    Additionally you will need:

    • Windows Server 2008 R2 (SP1 recommended) with the Hyper-V role enabled.


    Cheers, 


    sara



    • Edited by Sara2010 Thursday, August 23, 2012 6:18 PM
    Thursday, August 23, 2012 6:12 PM
  • You can configure the site to be accessed via internet. e.g You can configure this demo image on your home system and when you travel you can connect to the server either using RDP or using AAM configuration with appropriate DNS configuration, of course with proper security measures.

    Yes, these images are hyper V images with Sp1 and you need Windows 2008 R2 with SP1. For hyper V you need Virtualization enabled CPU

    Demo image is valid for 180 days with lots of great web parts, reports and data which helps to provide actual insight what Project Server is capable of. Often after watching is demo, response from the audience is “that is exactly what we are looking for”


    Hrishi Deshpande – Senior Consultant DeltaBahn
    Blog | < | LinkedIn
    Please click Mark As Answer; if a post solves your problem or Vote As Helpful; if a post has been useful to you

    Thursday, August 23, 2012 6:36 PM
    Moderator
  • sorry, but what's the point of having a project server virtualisation with Windows 2008 R2 platform for download that requires Windows 2008 R2 for that download?

    surely it would make more sense to offer project server virtualisation with Windows 2008 R2 image for download to non Windows 2008 R2 based systems, like me who is running XP Pro?

    or am i missing something?

    or are there sites that host project server 2010 for external demo?

    thanks again :)


    sara


    • Edited by Sara2010 Thursday, August 23, 2012 7:18 PM
    Thursday, August 23, 2012 7:17 PM
  •  

    Reason for that is Microsoft has discontinued Virtual PC for Windows XP and now for MS virtualization means Hyper V.

    Another reason is these images are full blown SharePoint, Project Server, Active Directory enabled servers, needs more resources and technology which can handle virtualized platform with better performance

    You could try importing hyper V images in other Virtualization clients but you need Windows 7 with Virtualization CPU or if you can wait for another few days you can consider Windows 8 which is due for release on 26<sup>th</sup> Cot 2012

    On the side note: Windows XP will be also soon out of consumer support


    Hrishi Deshpande – Senior Consultant DeltaBahn
    Blog | < | LinkedIn
    Please click Mark As Answer; if a post solves your problem or Vote As Helpful; if a post has been useful to you

    Thursday, August 23, 2012 7:28 PM
    Moderator
  • ah ok thanks Hrishi,

    it seems like I'm stuck for now then with only XP Pro and Vista laptops.

    can you recommend any project server hosting sites that allow trial demo that allow external connection? 

    or what about:

    VirtualBox runs on the following host operating systems:

    • Windows hosts:

      • Windows XP, all service packs (32-bit)

    or will this not work then now that virtualisation is hyper v?

    http://epmcentral.com/articles/ps10step1.php


    sara



    • Edited by Sara2010 Thursday, August 23, 2012 8:05 PM
    • Marked as answer by Sara2010 Wednesday, August 29, 2012 2:05 PM
    • Unmarked as answer by Sara2010 Wednesday, August 29, 2012 2:05 PM
    Thursday, August 23, 2012 7:35 PM
  • Sara,

    I don’t want to call out specific product name, but yes if you have Virtualization enabled system you can use it and it works well too. You should also have sufficient RAM, by default image has 6GB RAM assigned when you configure for the first time

    About hosting service, you can check with Project Hosts


    Hrishi Deshpande – Senior Consultant DeltaBahn
    Blog | < | LinkedIn
    Please click Mark As Answer; if a post solves your problem or Vote As Helpful; if a post has been useful to you

    Thursday, August 23, 2012 9:05 PM
    Moderator
  • thank you Hrishi,


    Project Hosts is a good option and also I see the Technet hosted lab that I was trying to use has MS Project 2010 installed which seems to integrate with the Project Server they are hosting.


    Obviously, the Project Hosts option would more powerfully demonstrate Project client server workflow sync-ing.  

    Either way these provide options for a quick short term solution.  And then if the need develops I can look to set up a virtual machine with the layers installed as you have outlined...

    Thank you for your fantastic help - much appreciated.

    Sara


    sara


    • Edited by Sara2010 Friday, August 24, 2012 1:18 PM
    Friday, August 24, 2012 12:21 PM
  • You are most welcome Sara.

    If you all queries are answered kindly close the thread by confirming appropriate response as answered.


    Hrishi Deshpande – Senior Consultant DeltaBahn
    Blog | < | LinkedIn
    Please click Mark As Answer; if a post solves your problem or Vote As Helpful; if a post has been useful to you

    Friday, August 24, 2012 3:17 PM
    Moderator