Getting Started with WSUS? RRS feed

• Question

• So I am brand new to WSUS and I've been working with it a little bit here and little bit there and I can't seem to get my computer to show up in the management console at all. I have the role installed on the server and I have the policy enabled to allow client side targeting in the local group policy for my test machine and it even has the correct computer group name in the policy editor. What am I doing wrong here? It seems like it should be showing up just fine but it just won't.
    Monday, November 5, 2018 4:49 PM

All replies

• Hello,

1. Check the connectivity between WSUS and client first. Temporarily shut down the firewall for test.
    2. Double check the WSUS address in the policy, it should like "http://yourwsus:8530".
    3. On the client, browse "http://yourwsus:8530/selfupdate/wuident.cab", you should be prompted to download or open wuident.cab.
    4. Run following script on the client and check the result.
    net stop bits
    net stop wuauserv
    reg delete "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\WindowsUpdate" /v AccountDomainSid /f
    reg delete "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\WindowsUpdate" /v PingID /f
    reg delete "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\WindowsUpdate" /v SusClientId /f
    reg delete "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\WindowsUpdate" /v SusClientIDValidation /f
    rd /s /q "C:\WINDOWS\SoftwareDistribution"
    net start bits
    net start wuauserv
    wuauclt /resetauthorization /detectnow
    usoclient.exe startscan

It would be very helpful if you could provide some detailed information about your policy or wsus setting.

Best Regards,
    Ray

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help.

If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

Tuesday, November 6, 2018 2:20 AM