Migrate UM from Exchange 2010 to Exchange 2013 RRS feed

• Question

• I have been running Exchange UM since Exchange 2007, using the ps1 script to move all my Auto Attendants into the 2010 environment. I'm at a loss on how to efficiently do this in moving from Ex2010 to Ex2013, though. I've read http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dn169226 and it's Step 3 that's got me bewildered. I have 44 Auto Attendants, most of which with up to five custom greetings, numerous key mappings, etc. That Step 3 indicates having to move each custom greeting individually.

I'm just getting into PowerShell and struggling as-is. Compounding that floundering with the lack of clear documentation on moving custom greetings en mass has me frustrated. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Tuesday, March 4, 2014 9:19 PM

All replies

• Hi David,

Before we migrate all the users to 2013, we would recommend you to test voice mail on 2013 server.

Here are the steps we need to follow to test VM on 2013 server:

1. Create a certificate for both Unified Messaging service and the Call Router services. Here is an article on how to create certificates , http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dn205141(v=exchg.150).aspx

2. Create new dial plan in Exchange 2013. Here is an article on how to create a dial plan, http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb123819(v=exchg.150).aspx

3. Run scripts on both Exchange and Lync servers.

4. Create test user and enable the user for both Lync and Exchange.

5. Enable newly created user for UM and test voicemail for that user.

Additionally here is a link which has checklist to upgrade from Exchange 2010UM to 2013UM http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dn169228(v=exchg.150).aspx

Thanks,

James

Wednesday, March 5, 2014 8:20 AM