none
Windows Server 2008 R2 "The DNS server isn't responding" RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

Our company recently switched from Sonicwall to Meraki, and it seems that our server has lost WAN connectivity. In my network and sharing center the connection map shows "(This computer) -> corp.emccltd.com -> Internet" without issues. I'm assuming based on this information that my DNS has been misconfigured since we upgraded our network.

I am relatively new to Windows server, as I mainly manage our database.

I am not sure which information is necessary for someone to provide assistance, however I will be very tentative to this thread and will respond quickly.

Thank you to anyone who can help out,

Ocean

• Edited by Ocean Sharma Tuesday, October 31, 2017 3:02 PM Spacing
    Tuesday, October 31, 2017 2:47 PM

All replies

• Hi,

>>my network and sharing center the connection map shows "(This computer) -> corp.emccltd.com -> Internet" without issues

In general, it would appear a exclamation point if your DNS has been misconfigured .

>>it seems that our server has lost WAN connectivity

Does you mean the browser fail to access website? By IP or domain name?

Could you please provide the screenshots of  command  ipconfig /all   and   tracert  your destination.

Best Regards,
    Frank

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help.
    If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

Wednesday, November 1, 2017 8:36 AM
  • Thank you for your reply!

Here's a paste of both commands being run.

https://pastebin.com/2ya8iYUr

EDIT: When I try to access any webpages with Firefox, Chrome, or IE, it cannot connect to the site and says there's a DNS error. I also have a FileMaker database that accesses xe.com for currency exchange rates and that doesn't work anymore.

I also talked to Cisco Meraki Support to confirm I hadn't misconfigured anything on the hardware but they say that it's fine.