none
Merging Excel in a MSProject master file RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I have a master project that's a container for many subprojects.

I exported a table in Excel including the Unique ID.

After editing the Excel file I need to merge it back with the master project, updating all the subprojects rows. I tried using the Unique ID as a Key, but it doesn't work. The rows are simply added to the master project as if the Unique ID did not work as a Primary Key.

How so? And how can I solve this?

Thank you in advance for any solution or suggestion you could possibly give me.

Anna

Tuesday, December 27, 2016 10:36 AM

Answers

• Goldenpenny,

It doesn't work in that case because you are using a dynamic master. In a dynamic master the subprojects are not actually part of the master, rather the master contains pointers to each subproject. So, when you try to import back to the master, the only place the incoming data can "address" is the master itself.

The export and import for this type of scenario is best accomplished with VBA.

Just curious, why do you need to export to Excel, edit and then import back to Project?

John

• Marked as answer by Goldenpenny Tuesday, December 27, 2016 5:40 PM
    Tuesday, December 27, 2016 2:11 PM

All replies

• Frankly, Project and Excel are not designed to work that way.  Mainly, use Project to export into Excel.  Use Excel to import into new Project tasks.  If you want two-way synchronisation, you'll need to write/develop some pretty heavy-duty software.  Perhaps there is a third party solution out there for this, but not known to me.  

Best to use Project user interface to work with Project data.  Keep in simple.

--rms www.rmschneider.com

Tuesday, December 27, 2016 11:21 AM
  • Goldenpenny,