none
Copy File from C to UNC Directory RRS feed

• Question

• First off.. I'm a novice. So feel free to break out the red ink and let me have it. 

With that out of the way, I hit a wall with a particular script I've quilted together using various sources on the internet. I have a script that generates a Hardware Audit.. creates an HTML file with the data.. then copies that HTML file to a folder via a UNC path. 

The script works beautifully when ran locally on the remote machine. However, whenever I try to execute it remotely from my machine (call it via a PowerShell session where I'm logged in as an admin) it says that access is denied on that UNC directory. Everything still works great up until that point, however. It's just the copying to the UNC directory at the end of the script that fails when the script is called remotely. 

Very strange, and I'm not sure if it has to do with the script or something else. If someone who is very knowledgeable can give this script a quick once over and let me know if it looks good for being ran remotely.. I would appreciate it. Thanks in advance, guys & gals.

############hardwareaudits#####################

$name = (Get-Item env:\Computername).value 
    $filepath = (Get-ChildItem env:\userprofile).value

#### HTML Output Formatting ################### 

$a = "<!--mce:0-->" 

############################################### 

ConvertTo-Html -Head $a  -Title "Hardware Information for $name" -Body "<h1> Computer Name : $name </h1>" >  "$filepath\$name.html"  

# MotherBoard: Win32_BaseBoard # You can also select Tag,Weight,Width  
    Get-WmiObject -ComputerName $name  Win32_BaseBoard  |  Select Name,Manufacturer,Product,SerialNumber,Status  | ConvertTo-html  -Body "<H2> MotherBoard Information</H2>" >> "$filepath\$name.html" 

# Battery