Windows 10 Enterprise Evaluation RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I downloaded the 90 day trial of Windows 10 Enterprise and tried to activate against the KMS server at my work.  While trying to activate it succeeds but, it appear to only activate the 90 day trial and not against the KMS servers at my work.  Even if I specify the server it doesn't hit it.  I've been using this image for a few months now and haven't noticed any issues until today, usually I wait a period of time(~1hr) and the system activates on its own and the warning message about Windows being a trial disappears.  

Please advise on how I can resolve this as Microsoft shouldn't be advertising a trial of Enterprise if it cannot be activated against KMS or using MAK.

Thanks,Aron

Tuesday, May 1, 2018 8:02 PM

All replies

• Two things:

• Ensure your KMS Host key is licensed for Enterprise.  Maybe it's only licensed for Professional.
    • On the client, replace the trial key with the correct KMS client key by typing these commands from an administrative command prompt:

cscript.exe //nologo %systemroot%\system32\slmgr.vbs /ipk NPPR9-FWDCX-D2C8J-H872K-2YT43

cscript.exe //nologo %systemroot%\system32\slmgr.vbs /ato

Note: It's possible that the trial edition cannot be upgraded to a "real" client.  If so, then none of this will work.

Good luck

-Tony

Wednesday, May 2, 2018 12:10 AM
    1. Open an elevated command prompt.
    2. Enter one of the following commands.
      • To install a KMS key, type slmgr.vbs /ipk <KmsKey>.
      • To activate online, type slmgr.vbs /ato.
      • To activate by using the telephone, type slui.exe 4.
    3. After activating the KMS key, restart the Software Protection Service.

S.Sengupta,Microsoft MVP Windows and Devices for IT, Windows Insider MVP

Wednesday, May 2, 2018 12:13 AM
  • Hello,