none
windows defender RRS feed

• Question

• I have a message that reads my Windows Defender is turned off and I cannot get it to turn on! Please advise me how to fix this, I am no computer techie so make it simple!
    Wednesday, February 3, 2016 1:17 PM

Answers

• Hi,

Was your issue resolved?

If you resolved it using our solution, please "mark it as answer" to help other community members find the helpful reply quickly.

If you resolve it using your own solution, please share your experience and solution here. It will be very beneficial for other community members who have similar questions.

If no, please reply and tell us the current situation in order to provide further help.

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help, and unmark the answers if they provide no help. If you have feedback for TechNet Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

• Marked as answer by Beegeesgirl Tuesday, February 16, 2016 12:35 PM
    Tuesday, February 16, 2016 7:49 AM

All replies

• Hi,

have you installed a separate Antivirus-Solution?

Maybe this has deactivated your Defender...

Have you tried to reboot your System?

Regards

Eric

Microsoft MVP Cloud and Datacenter Management
    Microsoft Partner Technical Solutions Professional (P-TSP)
    --
    www.ericberg.de
    @ericberg_de
    --
    MCSE: Enterprise Devices and Apps | MCSE: Private Cloud | MCSE: Server Infrastructure | MCSE: Desktop Infrastructure

Wednesday, February 3, 2016 1:28 PM
  • Check the service under service.exe Windows Defender and check if it is running an set to Manual Start-up type. Agree with Eric if you have another AV software it will conflict and cause issues, silly question did you try rebooting the client pc?

Regards,

J

This posting is provided AS-IS with no warranties or guarantees and confers no rights.

Cheers, J

Wednesday, February 3, 2016 1:33 PM
  • Hello,

This may help you:

http://www.kapilarya.com/this-app-is-turned-off-by-group-policy-windows-defender