none
IF in Power Query statement struggling with converting text to numbers RRS feed

• Question

• Hi I'm a PQ newbie and struggling to understand a slow loading issue with an if statement.

In the raw data the field [Location] is a text field e.g. 0010. I have a parameterised query that get a Location_Value from Excel and passes it to the PQ query using

#"Filtered Rows1" = Table.SelectRows(#"Removed Other Columns", each ([SalesMode] = 0) and ([SalesType] = 0) and ([Location] = Location_Value))

This works fine if you chose a single location.  However I wanted to be able to select all locations and text is horrible to work with so in PQ I used the change type function to change the location column into whole numbers. I changed excel to also pass a number as Location_Value.   I was therefore surprised when the same query took 2.5 times longer to refresh????

My PQ now looks like this

#"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(#"Removed Other Columns",{{"Location", Int64.Type}}),
        #"Filtered Rows1" = Table.SelectRows(#"Changed Type", each ([SalesMode] = 0) and ([SalesType] = 0) and ([Location] = Location_Value))

i'm wondering if I need to do something to the ([Location] = Location_Value) bit as maybe it still thinks [Loation] is text and it is trying to compare it to a number. I st assumed the step above meant that [Location] was now a number, but maybe you still have wrap it with some kind of VALUES or TEXT function?

Thanks for any advice

mike

Thursday, November 19, 2015 8:18 AM

Answers

• Tried that and takes forever until eventually just returning 1 blank row. Not sure why as I can see a preview of the query in PQ editor that looks fine.  I suspect that any translation of data type is taking time, but seems really odd for this to be the case.  I've always been taught that numbers are more efficient than text, but not in this case!!!!