Filtering a document library RRS feed

• Question

• I have a document library in which I have added a column called "location".

Every user of the site is a member of one or more AD groups with names like "location (staff)" or "location (contractor)".

I have also added a yes/no column called "internal".

I would like to filter the view so that users are able to see the documents at their site. I would also like to limit access to the internal documents to staff, excluding contractors.

Can anyone suggest a solution, or provide links to material that would help me produce a solution?

Thursday, January 12, 2012 4:49 AM

Answers

• I have made use of some trickery with a third party product called Nintex Workflow. This may be possible OOTB, but I have no experience with standard workflows.

First I created a workflow which triggers on item creation or update which strips the permissions from the item and grants AD permissions. I have tested this and am satisfied that it works.

Next I then enabled targetted audiences for the document library and updated the workflow to respond to the "internal" field to add audiences to items. I have not yet tested this, but in theory it will hide records that contractors are not supposed to see since they are not the targetted audience.

Friday, January 13, 2012 4:18 AM

All replies

• Hi David,

I see two out of the box solutions:

1. Creating folder and permissioning on the folder based on your AD group would probably be an easier solution for you.