none
Splitting a task over time RRS feed

• Question

• When you create a task it seems that it wants to do most of the tasks linearly.

We have a large project which we want to do over 2016.

I am new to MS project so an having trouble find direction (watch about 2 hours of videos so far but none have covered these)

1. Some of the task will run for 11 months (Jan - Nov) in which I want staff to allocate maybe 4 hours a week on.

2. Some task maybe will take 20 -30 hours, and has a deadline eg End of January, but I don't want them leaving it until the last 20 hours. Again I would prefer they spend 5 hours in week 1, 5 hours in week 2 etc.

Linearly the project could all be achieved in 2-3 months but we have other Key tasks. So splitting tasks across weeks and months would be helpful.. any suggestions?

Wednesday, November 4, 2015 10:23 PM

All replies

• Hi ScottyBax,

Probably all you have at the moment is a duration for each task.  You need to then assign a resource, and this assignment creates work.  By default this will assign the user at 100%, ie 8 hours per working day.  To get what you want will require a little work...

1. Insert the Work Column, and remove the assignment (ie the user).  If the work column is not reset to zero, then set it to zero.  

2. What happens next, depends on whether you have a manually scheduled task or autoscheduled, and therefore the task type.  Assuming 4 hours per week, that equates to 10% resource allocation, so with the task highlighted, I would use the Assign Resource button (Alt-F10) and enter the Units of 10% against the resource and hit the assign button.

3. Check the work value looks "right" - ie do a mental calculation here...

Ben Howard [MVP] | web | blog | book | P2O

Thursday, November 5, 2015 12:57 AM
  • Ben thanks for your reply.. I tried it and it seems to only have 10% of the task assigned.

EG I had a 2 day task (16 hours work)