none
Data Protection Manager - LTO Ultrium-3 stand alone tape drive - fast inventory fails RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I have been unsuccessful in finding a resolution to my dilemma. One of my DPM servers recently had a LTO Ultrium-2 stand-alone tape drive go bad. I replaced the bad tape drive with an LTO Ultrium-3 stand-alone tape drive and ever since after I swap out the tapes in this drive I have to run a fast inventory followed by a detailed inventory manually. If I fail to do this, when the job/s kick off the fast inventory fails 98% of the time and I receive an alerts stating that the tape drive has the incorrect tape. Then I go in to the DPM admin Console and to run a fast inventory followed by a detailed inventory again and away we go, all the jobs run correctly and in their entirety. I opened up a TAC with HP and sent the diagnostics to them and they stated that the drive was 110%. Where do I go from here? Nothing on the DPM side is out of order that said I am a newbie in the DPM world and kind of lost. Any assistance, would be greatly appreciated.

Server 2003 R2

64x

service pack 2

Tuesday, October 26, 2010 3:16 PM

Answers

All replies

• Hi

Are you running DPM2010 or DPM 2007? Are you using LTO-2 tapes in the LTO-3 tade drive? Is the tape drive compatible with the LTO-2 tapes ? Have you run HP the HP StorageWorks Library and Tape Tools (http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/DriverDownload.jsp?pnameOID=406731&locale=en_US&taskId=135&prodTypeId=12169&prodSeriesId=406729)

You can also update the firmware from this application. Verify that your tape drive can use your old tapes.

Please return with info.

BR

Robert Hedblom

Check out my DPM blog @ http://robertanddpm.blogspot.com

Wednesday, October 27, 2010 7:06 PM
  • DPM 2007 / BN LTO-3 tapes / Latest Firmware

Thank you very much, hope you are having a great day.

Wednesday, November 3, 2010 6:44 PM
  • DPM 2007 / BN LTO-3 tapes / Latest Firmware