Win8 Start Screen tiles are missing RRS feed

• Question

• I have a Win8 64bit hp touchsmart pc. I have been running Win8 for a few months now with ZERO problems until now.  Yesterday Media Center crashed and I lost access to the start screen tiles (they are gone) and the desktop (which I have since gotten to work again). It gave me an error for my video drivers so I downloaded them and installed the new ones but nothing is working. I had to use a laptop and transfer the amd update with a flash drive because I can access the internet thru the desktop (on the computer) but it will not let me download anything. 

My wife has a profile on this computer and when we access hers EVERYTHNG works. 

I also noted that Media Center dumped all the videos libraries and when I try to update the libraries it says there are no files. Strange because I can see the files in Explorer.

The Message Center is also telling me I have to "enter your most recent password" but when I click the button to do that nothing happens.

The computer starts up fine and I can access the side bar on the start screen and everything else but the start screen is empty.

If I right click on the start screen then click on All Apps that screen is empty also.

I downloaded Win8 from Microsoft and dont have a physical disk.

I have also reset the computer back to the way it was a couple days ago but the start screen is still blank.

Any ideas or help would be greatly appreciated!

Friday, March 15, 2013 6:04 PM

Answers

• There are two methods that you can try.

One would be to create a new Microsoft account for your computer and login with that.