none
Need Help Creating Child Folders for New Users. RRS feed

• Question

• Hello Scripting Guys,

I'm completely new to scripting and reach out to the experts for assistance.  I have been tasked to come up with a Powershell script that will query Active Directory for any new user that has been created (we use an application to create new users that sets a homedirectory as \\server\%username%$ with the actual path of \\server\h\users\%username%) within the last 5 minutes and create 2 child directories under the users root share.  i.e. \\server\%username%$\folder1 and \\server\%username%$\folder2.  The application we use to create user accounts also has the ability to attach a script to run when the user account is created.  I'm trying to create a script and attach it to the application.

After scouring the net for a week I have come up with something that looks as though it may work (from my extremely limited experience) but, nonetheless, does not.

$fiveminutes = (Get-Date).AddMinutes(-5)

$newuser = Get-ADUser -Filter * -Properties * | where { $_.whenCreated -ge $fiveminutes } | select homeDirectory

$folders = gci $newuser | Where-Object{($_.PSIsContainer)} | foreach-object{$_.Name}

ForEach($fldr in $folders){ New-Item -ItemType Directory -Path "\\$newuser\$fldr\Folder1"}
    ForEach($fldr in $folders){ New-Item -ItemType Directory -Path "\\$newuser\$fldr\Folder2"}

Basically, I'm trying to query A.D. for any new user that was created in the last 5 minutes, grab the homeDirectory location and create the 2 new folders within it.  As you can probably tell, this isn't working out too well.  When I break it down it does complete the search and pull new users and display their homeDirectory but Powershell errors out in line 7 when trying to create the folders.

New-Item : The path is not of a legal form.
    At C:\QueryADCreateFolders.ps1:7 char:37
    + ForEach($fldr in $folders){ New-Item <<<<  -ItemType Directory -Path "\\$newu
    ser\$fldr\Folder1"}