Where are the Project Plans in MOF RRS feed

• General discussion

• I work in a state government IT shop. We are planning to use MOF to develop (or improve) our Change and Configuration Management Process. It is my hope that this will be the first in a series of IT Process Improvement projects.

I am looking for a project plan for implementing the MOF Change and Configuration Service Management Function (SMF). I need to develop a draft work plan with time and resource estimates in order to get a Go-decision from leadership and to be able to plan. I want this first one to be a successful project and being a good project manager I want to start with a good plan. I was hoping for a jumpstart.

I was surprised not to find any Microsoft project files on implementing anything in MOF. Or, project summaries that show a work breakdown structure (WBS) and some sequencing of tasks. We can always shuffle the WBS, but it is nice to have a starting point. After deciding scope, the difficult part is figuring out what can be down in parallel, what can’t and what shouldn’t. Some recommendations on resources needed and time estimates would be a great addition. (I have read the "Getting Started with MOF", the overviews, and most of the other MOF documentation.)

I think an example project plan for each SMF would be a great help to us implementers. Do you have any I can follow? I am willing to contribute some once we get started. My thinking is that being more project-centric would be good for MOF on a few levels.  Please let me know your thoughts.

Best wishes, -->Rob
    Tuesday, April 26, 2011 7:35 PM

All replies

• Hi Godbero,

Maybe you can use Job Aids to start:

Link for Download (~42 Mb)

http://download.microsoft.com/download/6/5/8/658BC1E9-E262-45CA-BB6E-E87C058BBD37/IT%20Pro%20Quick%20Start%20Kit.zip

Take a look on Scenarios for Applying MOF Job Aid document.

Hope this helps.

Regards,

Cleber Marques

Microsoft MVP & MCT | Charter Member: SCVMM & MDOP