none
Scripting Configuration of Password Policy, Account Lockout Policy, Audit Policy, and User Rights RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm really new to PowerShell and scripting in general but I'm trying to take my best shot at scripting a total security configuration of GPEdit. For most items like in the Security Options directory, each item has a directory that matches a registry path that can easily be scripted. However, the 4 paths listed in the title, passwords, account lockout, auditing, and user rights are not registry keys, and therefore can't be scripted using the same method.

I have heard that there are other methods of scripting such policies like using SecEdit. The only problem is I'm not sure how to do that and I'd rather not spend a month learning PowerShell and SecEdit just for one script.

Please help me figure out a solution.

Sunday, November 4, 2018 6:47 PM

Answers

• We never script that.  That is what Group Policy is for.  Some settings are in the protected security key of the system and cannot be changed with a script.

User rights can only be set by directly modifying the security database and use SecEdit to apply the updates to the database.

There is no need to do any of this since Group Policy is specifically designed and has the correct agents to make these modifications across an enterprose.

\_(ツ)_/

• Marked as answer by ethang7 Monday, November 5, 2018 6:11 PM
    Sunday, November 4, 2018 7:39 PM

All replies

• We never script that.  That is what Group Policy is for.  Some settings are in the protected security key of the system and cannot be changed with a script.

User rights can only be set by directly modifying the security database and use SecEdit to apply the updates to the database.

There is no need to do any of this since Group Policy is specifically designed and has the correct agents to make these modifications across an enterprose.

\_(ツ)_/

• Marked as answer by ethang7 Monday, November 5, 2018 6:11 PM