Active Directory not connected to Domain Controller

• Hi

I am attempting to setup a new server with Windows Server 2012.  Install appeared to confirm as completing correctly.  When opening Active Directory Administrative Center I receive an error message "Cannot connect to any domain.  Refresh or try again when connetion is available."  I'm not sure what other information to post.  I've never posted on a forum.  I'm a small business owner.  I'd appreciate some help by someone patient with a novice.

Saturday, October 19, 2013 3:57 PM

All replies

• I'd start by making sure that you are logging into the machine with a domain account, and not logging in as a local administrator.
    Second, when the tool is open, try connecting to a domain using the full path ( rather than just contoso)

Also, make sure the machine is joined the domain.

Saturday, October 19, 2013 4:15 PM
  • Many thanks for the reply. I'm logged into the server. I only have this one machine on this network at this time. I'm logged in as domain name\administrator I'm unsure which tool you're referencing. When I open the active directory administration center, a login isn't requested. I'm assuming since I'm logged in as domain admin the machine is joined, but this may not be correct.
    Saturday, October 19, 2013 4:31 PM
  • Hi,

Please make sure Active Directory Web Services service is started on the domain controller in the domain. Ensure that it is set to start automatically.

Run below command:

nltest /dsgetdc:<domain NetBIOS name> /ws /force

Netstat -anob > ports.txt

Examine the ports.txt file and validate that the ADWS service is listening on port 9389.