HV Cluster Hard Drive information RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm new to Powershell, so please forgive me.

I'm looking to find out which of the VMs in our HV Cluster have dynamically expanding hard drives.
    Is this possible through a PS script?
    I'd prefer not to open each VM individually and inspect each Virtual Hard Drive... there are hundreds of them!

Thanks in advance,

Peter

Thursday, April 4, 2019 2:30 PM

All replies

• Get-Command -Module Hyper-V
    ... should get you started ...

Live long and prosper!

(79,108,97,102|%{[char]$_})-join''

Thursday, April 4, 2019 3:08 PM
  • Hi Peter,

You can find these pretty easily by using your favorite Internet search engine, below you'll find a a few example scripts:

Example 1

Get all the Hyper-V virtual machines with dynamic disks:

Get-VM –VMname * -Computername Host1, Host2 | Select-Object VMId | Get-VHD | Where-Object {$_.vhdType -eq "Dynamic"}

Example 2

Get all the Hyper-V virtual machines with dynamic disks and print out the results to a HTML file:

Get-VM –VMname * -Computername Host1, Host2 | Select-Object VMId | Get-VHD | Where-Object {$_.vhdType -eq "Dynamic"} | ConvertTo-HTML > "C:\Temp\DynamicDisks.html"

Example 3

Get all the Hyper-V virtual machines with dynamic disks and print out the results to a text file:

$Cluster = "HyperVCluster"
    $LogFile = "C:\Temp\VM_Dynamic_Disks.txt"
    $ClusterNodes = Get-ClusterNode -Cluster $Cluster

$Results = ForEach ($ClusterNode in $ClusterNodes) {
        Invoke-Command -Computername $ClusterNode.Name {   
        ForEach ($VM in (Get-VM)){
        Get-VM -Name $VM.name | Select-Object VMID | Get-VHD | Where-Object {$_.vhdType -eq "Dynamic"} | fl @{Label="VirtualMachine";Expression={($VM.name)}},ComputerName, Path, VHDFormat, VHDType
        }
        }
        }
    $Results | Out-File -FilePath $LogFile

Best regards,
    Leon

Blog: https://thesystemcenterblog.com LinkedIn:

Thursday, April 4, 2019 3:13 PM