E-mail template for software requests using SCCM and SCSM 2012. RRS feed

• Question

• For starters, I am very new to SCSM 2012. I'm doing my best to research every avenue before I post something here and I’ve run into a roadblock that I can’t seem to find information on. So I'm working on software approval requests and have gotten it down to the point where it sends an email to the user’s manager (using AAW and the line manager approval template.) However when the email is sent, the email template I created doesn’t pull in any of the substitution strings that I’ve put in the email template. As a test, I’ve added every available property and when it generates, it’s blank for all but two lines; “RA153” and “False”. The targeted class in the template is Review Activity and I can’t seem to figure out how to get those other fields pulled in. Is there somewhere that I can go in and populate that data? Really all I'm looking for it to pull in is the requesting user’s name, their manager’s name, and the software name they are requesting.

I’d really appreciate any guidance anyone could give. Thanks in advance.

Scott 

Thursday, July 19, 2012 7:44 PM

Answers

• Hi, the name is Fletcher :) 

Surname is Kelly.

Anyways,

If you are getting "$Context/Property[Type='WorkItem!System.WorkItem']/Id$" instead of IRxxx or whatever you abbreviation is setup as. Then the reference point is incorrect, the system is basically not understanding the template design. Can you please go and modify the template design and specifically use the "insert" and then navigate to the correct property to be used, Like "ID" and :Priority" under Work Item as examples. 

Your data warehouse jobs will not affect your template design / e-mail notification templates. However, it is good to fix that issue anyway.

Regards,

F.

As long as you learn something new every day, the day is not wasted.

Thursday, January 10, 2013 12:43 PM

All replies