none
Linking 1 PPT file to others without being forced back to the cloud

Question

• I have a master PPT file with links to multiple PPT decks. They all get copied to users' HDs in a single directory. The links work fine when all the files are simply copied. But when I put the files into SharePoint in the cloud and they get copied down via a SharePoint sync, the links I created get rewritten and always force the path back into the cloud. The results:

- When people click a link, they to click OK after reading a security warning. 

- The files that are linked are not the copies on their HDs but rather the cloud versions. The links take MUCH longer to work. 

There's gotta be a way to overcome this. Thanks in advance for any tips. 

Orson

Sunday, March 12, 2017 8:30 PM

All replies

• Hi Orson,

These links in the PPT file are relative paths. So when we click on the links in a PPT file stored in SharePoint site, it will find the linked files in the site instead of the files in client.

If you want to open the linked file that stored in the client, you should use the absolute path.

Best Regards,

Linda Zhang

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help.
    If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com

Monday, March 13, 2017 11:15 AM
  • Thanks. So.... I tried using %username% in the path for a link as a test, because the local location is the same except for the username appearing in the path. It did not work. 

Is there a different syntax or other approach I should use to make the links work? 

Please understand -- maybe I didn't make this clear before: The links need to work after the files are copied to a person's HD, not in the cloud. I don't care whether they work in the cloud. That's what puzzled me because SharePoint apparently changed what were very simple links (because all files were in the same location/same folder originally) into cloud URL-referenced links.