none
"Other User" RRS feed

  • Question

  • How to delete the Other User after installing the windows steady state and deleting all profile previously create? I am using vista business..
    Saturday, December 6, 2008 6:14 PM

Answers

  •  

    Hi, I would like to inform you that Windows SteadyState adds a login tile named "Other User" so that you, the admin, have a way to log in as the built-in Administrator account when the Administrator account has been hidden from the login screen.  On XP, you could hit ctrl-alt-del twice to bring up the old style login prompt where you could type in Administrator and the password.  This feature was removed on Vista, so we needed a workaround to ensure that the admin could always log in.

     

    Note that Windows SteadyState only adds this if the computer setting "Do not display user names in the 'Log On to Windows' dialog box " is disabled.

    Monday, December 8, 2008 6:49 AM
    Moderator

All replies

  •  

    Hi, I would like to inform you that Windows SteadyState adds a login tile named "Other User" so that you, the admin, have a way to log in as the built-in Administrator account when the Administrator account has been hidden from the login screen.  On XP, you could hit ctrl-alt-del twice to bring up the old style login prompt where you could type in Administrator and the password.  This feature was removed on Vista, so we needed a workaround to ensure that the admin could always log in.

     

    Note that Windows SteadyState only adds this if the computer setting "Do not display user names in the 'Log On to Windows' dialog box " is disabled.

    Monday, December 8, 2008 6:49 AM
    Moderator
  • To delete 'other user' account from welcome screen on a Vista PC, follow the steps below:

    1. Log into administrator account.
    2. Run Steadystate.
    3. Uncheck all boxes in the first option. Click OK.
    4. Disable Disk Protection and reboot.
    5. Enable Disk Protection again.
    6. You are done.

    Make sure you keep default cache file settings which is 50% of your available space on drive C:\. Do NOT change cache file size. If you do so, you'll have the phantom 'other user' button activated again. After a couple of reboots, you will no longer have the other user button on login screen. I tested this to work 100%.

    IMHO this is apparently a bug. Microsoft doesn't want to admit this though.
    Tuesday, January 13, 2009 1:34 PM