none
Online Backup of Server 2012 VM on Hypver-V 2008R2 not possible? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Guy's,

I'm new to DPM cause we are recently decided to move away from our not so good old Backup Software.

Now i'm trying to Backup a Hyper-V 2008R2 Server (no cluster). There are 3 VM's wich run Server 2012 and i DPM Says it cant do a online Backup.

I check for these things:

• The Backup (Volume Snapshot) Integration Service is disabled or not installed.
    • A virtual machine has one or more dynamic disks.
    • A virtual machine has one or more volumes that are based on non-NTFS file systems.
    • In a cluster configuration, the virtual machine Cluster Resource Group is offline.
    • A virtual machine is not in a running state.
    • A Shadow Storage assignment of a volume inside the virtual machine is explicitly set to a different volume other than itself.

Is is maybe not possible to backup the 2012 VM'S online on the HV2008R2 Server? Or do i have a other Problem?

Any hints a welcome.

thank you, regard

Stefan

Thursday, March 13, 2014 4:00 PM

All replies

• What is version DPM?
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/jj860400.aspx

Install Integration Service !

Protecting Hyper-V virtual machines

What are errors (screenshot) ?

Unsupported scenarios

• DPM servers and servers that are running Hyper-V must be located in the same domains. Different domains are not supported.
    • DPM does not support the backup of virtual machine data on pass-through disks that present volumes to the virtual machine or use a remote virtual hard disk (VHD). For such virtual machines, we recommend that you perform a backup of the VHD files at the level of servers that are running Hyper-V by using DPM and install a DPM protection agent on the virtual machine to back up data that is not visible on the server that is running Hyper-V.
    • DPM does not support backup and recovery of virtual machines on replica servers that are running Hyper-V.