none
Question about Power Query Variable passing RRS feed

• Question

• I am new at using Power Query. I have a working SQL query and am trying to make it dynamic by pulling information from a cell in the spreadsheet. That information is held in a Table.

In the query, I can see that my coding is pulling in the right period (2), but I can not get the SQL to run by inserting the variable (vPeriod) for the number 2.

If I can get this to work, it will be a big win at work.

Here is my code from Power Pivot...

let
     Parameter = Excel.CurrentWorkbook(){[Name="TParam"]}[Content],
     vPeriod=Parameter{0}[Value],

JEStatus = Oracle.Database("EFPROD01", [Query="SELECT A.BUSINESS_UNIT as BU, A.JOURNAL_ID as JE, a.descr as Name, TO_CHAR(A.JOURNAL_DATE,'YYYY-MM-DD') as JEDate, a.attachment_exist as Att, A.SOURCE as Src, A.JRNL_HDR_STATUS as Status, A.JRNL_PROCESS_REQST as Rqst, A.OPRID, b.oprdefndesc as Employee, c.supervisor_id as Approver, A.DTTM_STAMP_SEC

FROM SYSADM.PS_JRNL_HEADER A, sysadm.PSOPRDEFN b, sysadm.ps_CBI_GL_APPROVAL c

WHERE a.oprid = b.oprid
        and a.oprid = c.oprid
        and A.JRNL_PROCESS_REQST IN ('G','N','E')
        AND A.JRNL_HDR_STATUS NOT IN ('D','P','U')
        AND A.LEDGER_GROUP = 'ACTUALS'
        and A.ACCOUNTING_PERIOD = 2
        and a.fiscal_year = 2014
        and a.oprid = 'A1111111'
      ORDER BY supervisor_id,10,2, 8, 3, 4, 1, 5"])
    in
        JEStatus

I have tried substituting the 2 with :vPeriod @vPeriod %vPeriod even tried typing in Parameter{0}[Value].

Thank you for all your help in advance. I feel like it is something very minor that I am missing.

Saturday, April 5, 2014 12:30 AM

Answers

• In the Power Query formula language, the & operator is used to concat two text values. For your query string, just use it as such:

...A.ACCOUNTING_PERIOD =" & vPeriod & "and a.fiscal_year = .......

Does that work for you?

Zafar Abbas

• Proposed as answer by Zafar Abbas Saturday, April 5, 2014 9:00 PM