none
RDP single server solution with per user licenses RRS feed

• Question

• I’m new to Azure and to RDP licensing, so explicit answers / suggestions are very welcome. 

A small non-profit wants to update and move their 2008 server to the cloud. They want to run Microsoft Web Expression 4 (yes, Expression is obsolete / unsupported) using Remote Desktop. 

To test, we set up an Azure 2008 VM using the two administrative RD connections and installed Expression. This configuration works well for them except that they need valid licenses and up to 6 concurrent RDP sessions (per user, not per client licenses). 

They would also like to move to a 2016 or 2019 VM running Remote Desktop Services -and do this as simply as possible (using a single server, for example).

My understanding is that using a Workgroup server as a single server solution they must use per client RDP licenses. It’s not clear to me if per user RDP licenses can be used with a Domain Controller as the single server.

Questions: 

1. Is this feasible? -or would you suggest some other cloud solution?
    2. Can a single Azure server provide all the Remote Desktop services that are needed to host 6 RDP sessions (per user not per client licenses)?
    3. Any pointers to articles or instructions will be appreciated.

I’ve tried setting up a 2019 server to test this. My understanding is that the Remote Desktop Service Host has a 120 day grace period during which RD connections are allowed even though licenses have not been installed -so I’m hoping to set up an RDP server to test with before purchasing licenses. 

Below is a link to the guide I used to set up a single server solution. This test server is failing but that’s likely due to my inexperience. Before I devote too much time to troubleshooting this installation I want to know that I’m on the right path and that this should work.

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/2833839/guidelines-for-installing-the-remote-desktop-session-host-role-service