none
Beginner Question on start & finish dates verses actual start and finish RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to MS Project and scheduling and really enjoy the benefits of the tool. I have many questions, but this one is primary right now.

As I build my schedules I include start and finish dates, what I will call these the "planned" start and finish. I also include "actual" start and finish date columns. When I status my project and update with the "actual" start or "actual" finish it changes my planned start or finish. Why? Is there a way to stop it from doing this so one can see the planned vs actual and determine delays or the rare early start and finish? Do I need to do something in the setup to help me better track the "planned" Vs "actual" start and finish? Any suggestions?

Thank you in advance for your help. 

Friday, October 30, 2015 2:16 PM

All replies

• Hi,

This is indeed a commun concern while starting scheduling with Project. Indeed the actual dates will overwrite the standard dates (what you call "planned dates"). In order to compare the actual situation of your project versus what was initially planned, you need to create a baseline (you have up to 11 baselines). From the "project" tab, you can set a baseline, meaning that your dates, work, duration... Then you'll be able to compare your schedule with this reference/picture.

Here is how to use the baselines. Note that you can select the entire project or some tasks. You can also update a baseline or clear it. Be also aware of the concepts of slack, critical path.. It is worth following a course or buying a book about scheduling with Project.

https://support.office.com/en-us/article/Set-and-save-a-baseline-ac855151-34f2-42e8-8b05-c363dced3089

Hope this helps,

Guillaume Rouyre, MBA, MVP, MCC |

Friday, October 30, 2015 2:33 PM
  • Tebbe,