Unable to save user views... RRS feed

• Question

•  

Hello,

I have a user on Proclarity Standard (Analytics server version 6.2) that is unable to save / delete views. Other users are not facing this problem. It seems to be as if it his local machine. As an administrator, I have gotten him to disable his firewall, rebooted his machine... all to no avail.

He was able to save views before. I do not know if any windows update has caused problems. All user machines are on XP.

Please let me know if there is anything else I can do to fix this user's problem

Thanks in advance.

Tuesday, March 25, 2008 7:57 PM

Answers

• Bob,

We finally resolved the issue:

The permissions that you stated in the above directories were not getting propogated from the parent. i.e. the PAS directory. So that was a definate problem.

However after fixing the permissions, the user still had the same problem.

I went into the roles in the Analytics server Admin tool and on the Access Rights tab gave the user "Author" permission whereas earlier all of the users were set up with only "Reader"

That seems to have fixed the issue.

Although we are still unclear as to what changed suddenly. All of these users were set up with "Reader" access rights since over a year and have been functioning.

Thanks for your help in resolving this.

Tuesday, April 1, 2008 8:32 PM

All replies

• Does the user receive an error message when attempting to save or delete a My View?  Does the behavior change if the user logs in to a different workstation, then tries to save a view to their My Views?  Are there any corresponding messages in the ProClarity event log on the server?

Thanks,

Bob

Tuesday, March 25, 2008 8:49 PM
  • After reading your reply, I made the user login into another machine and the same problem occurs. He can view the views he had saved in his My views folder a while back, but cannot save any new views, nor he can he delete any view.