none
How to know when Power Query will not work with a website RRS feed

• Question

• Hi! I am very new to Power Query and as such can't tell if I am doing something wrong, or if the website will not allow me to get the data. Here is my predicament...My (non-profit) org has always used a third party site to retrieve donor detail from (i.e. we go to their site, download a spreadsheet of donor names and info so we can upload to our system, thank the donors, etc.). Now we can see the data on the screen, but cannot export it in any way. It is in a table. I can copy and paste on to a spreadsheet manually, but the page only shows a few rows at a time, and therefore some files have hundreds, maybe thousands of pages, so it is not an option to copy and paste the data manually. I have to use my credentials to log in to the site, and once in the site, choose the file I need to look at that day. So, I thought I could use Power Query to grab the data. I logged in to the site, went to the page I wanted, copied the URL. Went to Power Query>From Web, pasted the URL. In the Data Source Settings, I went to Basic and entered the login info (choosing the specific URL of the data I wanted and not the home page which was also an option). Hit Done. All it ever says on the Navigator is "Document" under the URL on the left, and the table it shows isn't a real table (it just says Element, Null, etc.). Unfortunately since this is all private info I cannot provide screenshots which I know means this post may be fruitless. My question is, if the website is somehow blocking Power Query from seeing the table, how would I know? Is there some troubleshooting way of knowing whether I am doing something wrong, or if it will never be able to do it no matter what? I have looked through books, videos, etc. and if it is possible to do this I need to learn how and will, but I don't want to waste more time than I already have if this is never going to be possible from this site. Any help you can give wou