none
Python in FS4SP RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Experts,

With some good experience in ESP I'm so much addicted to Python custom stages. Were as in FS4SP we are recommended to use C#..

My questions is, what are the negative points if I one choose Python for their custom stage over C#..? Your suggestions plz..

In the coming versions of FS4SP, will the native pipeline be in C# instead of Python? 

Much Thanks!!

PS: I'm sure python custom stages will work in the current version of FS4SP as I tested them myself!!

Freddie Maize ..A story with Glory is History. Doesn’t matter whether Glory rest in the world of Demon or God. Lets create History..
    Tuesday, August 16, 2011 4:27 PM

Answers

• Hello freddie,

The #1 negative point is that it is unsupported.

#2 for me is maintainability. For most SharePoint devs Python will be a language they are not familiar with, and bringing in new developers to work with Python can be an obstacle. I'm no Python expert myself, and don't know how I could easily set up unit tests for the stages I created in Python in a build environment, whereas this is very easy (for me) in Visual Studio.

#3 Any edits you do to pipelineconfig.xml can be overwritten by a service pack or cumulative update

#4 You have to store your custom stages in the same folders as FAST, while I like to keep my custom modules in a separate folder (I have the same grief with ESP on that one)

I'm sure there are more ,) and there are also some benefits to using Python, but I won't go into those as that is not part of your question :)

As for new versions, my educated guess is that the pipeline will be removed all together as-is, and be replaced with a new version of CTS, which is available for FSIS today. And CTS uses .Net modules.