none
Smartscreen prompt does not show for ClickOnce app since Windows 10 Update 1803

Question

• Hi,

I am a developer for a company internal app. The app is published to a UNC location and people can install it and it will update automatically. Only the first time after update or install, a SmartScreen window will popup up asking permission to run. That's fine.

However since 1803, the SmartScreen window no longer pops up after upgrade or install, hence app is not launched either. It just went silence after install, update or double clicking the desktop icon.

If I go to %userprofile%\AppData\Local\Apps\blah\blah and find the *.exe then launch it myself, the SmartScreen pops up normally and I can give the run instruction. Once I've done that, the desktop icon can also launch the app by double-click without any issue.

But locating the app is not a skill every user has and it's quite a lot of trouble. What is the right way to go if I don't want to purchase a CodeSigning Cert for an internal app distributed in internal LAN? And is there a way to go back to the Version 1709 behaviour (that is SmartScreen popping up once automatically after install)?

Thank you.

TL;DR Summary UPDATE 2018-06-13

The problem is solved after updating to the latest patch you can find via Check for Updates. I have not identified the update that solves the problem.

• Edited by LionetChen Wednesday, June 13, 2018 5:05 AM
    Tuesday, May 08, 2018 8:12 AM

All replies

• i am experiencing this issue as well with 2 different clickonce applications
    Tuesday, May 08, 2018 2:10 PM
  • Hi,

I'm experiencing same problem too since update 1803. In all my clickonce applications in different machines.

Regards

Tuesday, May 08, 2018 7:22 PM
  • I have the same problem. I found that by going to App & Browser Control and turning Smartscreen from Warn to off, it then works. Not a solution, but it might help.
    Wednesday, May 09, 2018 12:56 AM
  • Hi,