What are the functions performed by ITIL? RRS feed

  • Question

  • The ITIL best practices framework is based around five Service Lifecycle modules: Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation, and Continual Service Improvement, with each of them containing a number of ITIL Processes and Functions within it. In this article we’ll explore processes and functions for each module.

    The key to running efficient IT Service Management is knowing who does what; therefore, within the ITIL framework you’ll find numerous roles involved in the process(es) itself. In this article, you’ll find a list of all ITIL processes and roles that are involved in process execution.

    Some roles span across several processes, and have different influence on the process itself. Those complex relationships are maintained within the RACI (Responsible, Accountable, Support, Consulted, Informed) matrix, which spans across all Service Lifecycle processes and roles.

    Please guide in details?

    Saturday, March 2, 2019 4:23 PM


All replies

  • Hi sulepora.

    ITIL does not perform functions: ITIL is a set of detailed practices for IT service management (ITSM) that focuses on aligning IT services with the needs of business.
    You can start reading from


    Luigi Bruno

    Saturday, March 2, 2019 7:17 PM
  • If you observe the day to day processes used in your organization to deliver an IT service , you will observe they are very much aligned with ITIL.

    ITIL provides a guideline on service management and the processes that should be followed.

    Some examples are :

    Change Management - This process defines how a change is approved by CAB and released into the live system.

    Release Management - This process defines how to manage releases into systems.

    Incident Management - This process defines how to manage issues occurring in live systems.

    Saturday, August 24, 2019 8:37 AM