none
hyper-v , can't connect to internet from virtual machine

Question

• Hi,

I'm new in hyper-v and i have some problems in a new created virtual machine, i want to connect the virtual machine in same subnet with physical server ( 192.168.20.x ), virtual switch has 192.168.37.1 IP, if i set IP manually ( from 192.168.20.x ) to virtual switch or in virtual machine, nothing works ( ping,trace, share etc ) and don't know why.

Server ( 2012R2 ) gets DHCP from a router

Virtual switch in hyper v is "external" created with "allow management operating system.." but vm don't get any IP from router.

How can i set/get manually/auto IP from same subnet with physical server ( 192.168.20.x )  ?

Monday, February 27, 2017 9:35 AM

All replies

• Hi,

If your Hyper-V server has IP example 192.168.0.20 then the Virtual Machines will also be on that network 192.168.0.X as default. Virtual switch will also be on that network because when you create virtual switch you are pointing to physical network adapter. If that network adapter is on 192.168.0.0 network and you are not using VLANs than everything will work out-of-the-box

What do you mean by virtual switch has 192.168.37.1 and hyper-v has 192.168.20.X?

• Edited by Nedim Mehic Monday, February 27, 2017 11:57 AM
    Monday, February 27, 2017 11:52 AM
  • I agree with Nedim that your explanation is not clear.  Virtual switches do not have IP addresses.  When you create an external virtual switch on a NIC on the host, all IP protocols are removed from that NIC and replaced with Microsoft's virtual switch protocol.  There is no way to assign an IP address to the virtual switch.  If you have made changes to the network settings of the physical NIC after you created the virtual switch on that NIC, you have created a completely unsupported/unworkable environment.