none
Powershell - Pulling IP from Hostname File RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

Long time lurker of these forums, and have picked up a lot of great info here.

I am basically brand new to Powershell, and just picked it up the other day.  I have experience with batch scripts, and a bit of vbscript, but powershell is brand new to me.  I basically picked a few scripts over the last few day's and pieced them together to get me some good results, on other things, then what my post is about today.

Please be gentle, I'm new, and as time permits will try to find time to learn.... Until then I'm learning as I go....

With that said, I am attempting to create a script and am stuck, and was hoping for some help.  Basically, what I am trying to do is pull IP addresses from remote servers across my network from a text file.  So the way I have my script setup is as follows:

All files exist in the same directory on a server in my organization.  The powershell script, the hostnames.txt file that contains a list of all server names, and the batch script that I use to execute my powershell script with.  I am a domain admin so permissions are not an issue.  The batch file kicks off my powershell script and executes.  What I want to occur is the following:  Script runs, pulls all remote server/host names from the text file (hostnames.txt) (I have already copied the list of server names into this text file) and then saves the output to a .csv file.

After looking at many scripts I like the following format the best, because it works well with Excel and does away with the "Braces".  Again, I have pieced this script together from many things I have seen on the internet, so I'm sure there are better way's of doing this, however I love the formatting on this.