none
Set the power profile to "High Performance" with powershell on multiple computers RRS feed

• Question

• I want to set the power profile to "High Performance" and prevent standby on roughly 150 computers using a powershell script.  I am a powershell novice so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank in advance for any help or suggestions.

Saturday, August 22, 2015 10:05 AM

Answers

• After multiple tries, this is what ended up working for me.  Seems I just needed more time to figure it out.

$comp = get-content computers.txt
    $cred = Get-Credential domain\user
    $s = new-pssession -computername $comp
    invoke-command -session $s { powercfg.exe -SETACTIVE 8c5e7fda-e8bf-4a96-9a85-a6e23a8c635c }

I think maybe I was trying to make it harder than it was!

Thanks!

Saturday, August 22, 2015 1:08 PM

All replies

• What is "high performance"?  Are you asking about laptop power profiles?  Desktops are set to that by default.

To manage power profiles we would use "powercfg"  start with: "powercfg /?"

There is no native PowerShell command for this.

\_(ツ)_/

• Edited by jrv Saturday, August 22, 2015 11:11 AM
    Saturday, August 22, 2015 11:08 AM
  • Desktops.  Our desktops have a "balanced" power profile set by default and it forces them to sleep after 30 minutes. I know there is no native PowerShell command to do this.  I am looking for a way to script to set the power profile on all of them to the high performance profile and disable the sleep.

Something like the following, which I can do by remoting in through PSSession on a single machine and it works, but I am not sure how to do it on multiple machines at once to automate it.

Get-WmiObject -Class Win32_PowerPlan -Namespace root\cimv2\power -Filter "ElementName= 'High Performance'" | Invoke-WmiMethod -Name Activate
    powercfg.exe -SETACTIVE 8c5e7fda-e8bf-4a96-9a85-a6e23a8c635c
    $exe = "C:\Windows\system32\powercfg.exe"
    $arguments = "-x -standby-timeout-ac 0"