none
How to bulk delete AD contacts from a csv list? RRS feed

• Question

• I'm having problems writing a script to delete all contacts listed in a csv file. I have tried few things and either get errors or nothing gets deleted.

$ContactList= Import-Csv "c:\Users\test\desktop\Contacts.csv"
    foreach($C in $ContactList)
    {
    Get-ADObject -Filter "givenName -eq '$($C.Display)'"-SearchBase "OU=Contacts,DC=pi,DC=local" -Properties * | Select-Object -Property ObjectGUID | Remove-ADObject
    } 

This doesn't give any errors and seems like it should work but nothing gets deleted. Other things I tried seem to find the users then prompt for an Identity.

Any ideas? I'm new to PowerShell, created these contacts with a script I wrote and it was fairly simple but can't seem to delete them now.

• Edited by clarky cat Sunday, August 9, 2015 7:00 PM
    Sunday, August 9, 2015 6:59 PM

Answers

• Why are you fetching all properties? I would also add objectclass to the filter. You can try this:

Import-Csv C:\Users\test\desktop\Contacts.csv | ForEach-Object {
        $Filter = "ObjectClass -eq 'Contact' -and GivenName -eq '$($_.Display)'"
        Get-ADObject -Filter $Filter -SearchBase "OU=Contacts,DC=pi,DC=local" | 
            Remove-ADObject -WhatIf
    }

• Marked as answer by clarky cat Tuesday, August 11, 2015 8:37 PM
    Sunday, August 9, 2015 8:54 PM

All replies

• Try it like this.

"givenName" is not display name it is first name.  "givenName is NOT unique and will fail when more than one "john" or "susan" exist.

you should use "Name"

ContactList= Import-Csv "c:\Users\test\desktop\Contacts.csv"
    foreach($C in $ContactList){
        Get-ADObject -Filter "givenName -eq '$($C.Display)'"-SearchBase "OU=Contacts,DC=pi,DC=local" -Properties * | 
        Remove-ADObject -WhatIf
    } 

\_(ツ)_/

• Edited by jrv Sunday, August 9, 2015 9:11 PM
    • Proposed as answer by jrv Tuesday, August 11, 2015 8:43 PM
    Sunday, August 9, 2015 8:50 PM