none
logon script for looping - searching - deleting - copy RRS feed

• General discussion

• I was trying to do multiple functions within a logon script.  If nobody wants to write the script, can you please point me to the right resource to find how to code it.  I am completely new to this and need help.

The logic is to have a list of files on the server which were recently updated(this list changes all the time), using these files you would loop and search for these same files on the end user's machine upon logging in.  When it finds that same file on the end user's machine you would delete the file from the end user's machine, then copy the new updated file from the server onto the end user's machine in the same location the previous one was deleted from.  If file not found on end user's machine then just copy new one without deleting anything in highest level directory.  When done, you would loop again until you went thru every file that was updated on the server.  The source directory will always be the same and the copy to directory on end user's machine will always be the same, but end user's machines have subdirectories and the files that will be getting updated are in both.  Any help in any fashion would be appreciated.

We are in the process of migrating from XP to Windows 7.  While in XP, we only had to do a copy function in the logon script and it would copy over the old file and replace it.  But Windows 7 doesn't delete the old file, it appends the new one to the old one, making it hard for the software looking for these files to work properly when it sees two files instead of one current one.  Hopefully this makes sense, I can elaborate more if anyone wants to help and needs more details.  Thanks.

Tuesday, October 28, 2014 7:19 PM

All replies

• I would definitely not recommend copying files to end user machines from a logon script.

But you are right that this isn't a script-on-demand forum.