none
How Do I Properly Configure Sequencer PC RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to App-V, so would appreciate any feedback.

I've configured a virtual PC, running Window XP SP2 as my sequencing machine. And I've partitioned it according to Microoft's best practices. C: drive used for OS and Q: drive for application. 

I just want clarification regarding the use of the Q: drive:

When sequencing\monitoring the install of an application, should the application be installed in the Q: directory instead of the default location C:\Program files?

Why is this necessary?

Thanks,
    Myron

Tuesday, March 3, 2009 3:39 PM

Answers

• I am unconvinced about the performance statement that Microsoft normally makes in this regard, and asked them if they have any measureable basis for it at the MVP summit this week.  I don't believe you can measure the performance difference.  We will see what they say.

I prefer to install to a Q: folder that has a DOS 8.3 compliant name (eg the "short name" has no tildas).  This prevents potential issues at the client with short name conflict depending on the order that the client runs the app - a problem that can affect COM which uses short names.  Once in a while you hit an application that must be installed to C: to work, but the best practice is to install to Q: unless you have an issue.
    Wednesday, March 4, 2009 11:44 PM

All replies

• Hello,

To minimize overhead, best performance and simply to make some applications function its always best to install into the mount-point.

In reality however, I have only had problems with Office 2007 - as far as I can tell, no other application has given me issues (vice versa however, meaning installing to q:\asset.001\ has given me issues on several occasions.)

Trial and error, its the best way to map what applications you should install where.

/Znack
    Tuesday, March 3, 2009 8:55 PM