Unable to configure new Server 2016 KMS host RRS feed

• Question

• When trying to go to the configuration aspect of the Volume Activation Tools on my new 2016 server I get the following error:

Description:

Indicates two revision levels are incompatible

I don't get any obvious error in eventviewer and I'm at a loss.

Here's my environment, and what I'm trying to do:

My AD level is 2008R2 and I currently have a 2008R2 server performing KMS duties; so no AD based or Win10/2016 activation in my current system setup.  I'm attempting to transition to this new server as a KMS host server when I get the error.  I can see where the server is adding the DNS SRV record, I am an Enterprise admin as well as Domain Admin (single Domain) and local administrator on the server.  I started Volume Activation Tools utility as an administrator as well.

Any thoughts?

Thank you.

Thursday, January 19, 2017 3:52 PM

All replies

• Hi MadMaxZ1R,

It seems there are not much information about the error.

Which KMS host key are you using?

To make the Server 2016 KMS server, just run command slmgr /ipk to install the KMS key.

https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ff793416.aspx

If the old KMS server is not required, run slmgr /upk to uninstall the KMS key and delete the related DNS SRV records.

Best Regards,

Leo

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help.
    If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

Friday, January 20, 2017 6:37 AM
  • Thank you for the Feedback Leo,

There seems to be a bug with Server2016 and the Volume Activation Role

I thought that maybe the problem I was having was that this was the first 2016 server I deployed with a new VMWare template,  and maybe there was a problem with my Template.  So I decided to try a fresh install of server 2016 standard with GUI.  Unfortunately the problem presented itself in the same manner.

I've tried:

• sfc /scannow without error.