Help! BOOTMGR is missing RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Every

Hi Everyone,

I’m new to the house and I humbly need your help.

I wanted to have a dual boot of Windows 7 (Home, pre-install) and Windows Server 2008 on my system (HP 64bit).

I decided to create a partition of 150GB for the server (Total HDD 500GB) . I grab a partition tool (MiniTool Partition Wizard Home Edition) to do this, and that is where the trouble started. I shut down after the partitioning, when I wanted to boot, the system would not boot up.

Each time I tried to boot up the system, this is what I get: “BOOTMGR is missing   Press Ctr+Alt+Del to restart”.

I guessed the system no longer sees my original Windows partition as C: rather it now sees the new partition(that neither contain BOOTMGR file or any other file for that matter) as C: I had brought out the HDD and connected it to another system as an external drive, using the same tool, I tried to delete the new partition, but I still get the same message when I start the system.

Anyone with a clue on how to solve this should please help

Thanks in advance

AustinTY

Saturday, March 30, 2013 11:14 PM

Answers

• Austin

Win 7 creates a hidden boot partition of about 350 Mb.  When you created the "server" partition you may have deleted it.  You can boot from the win 7 dvd and do a repair install.

Wanikiya & Dyami -Team-ZigZag. www.ZigZag3143.com email Admin@zigzag3143.com

Sunday, March 31, 2013 2:33 AM
  • Hi,

I suggest trying the following steps to troubleshoot the issue.

Method 1: Repair Bootsect

================

1. Put the Windows 7 installation disc into the disc drive, and then start the computer.

2. Press a key when the message indicating "Press any key to boot from CD or DVD …". appears.

3. Select a language, a time, a currency, and a keyboard or another input method, and then click Next.

4. Click Repair your computer.

5. Click the operating system that you want to repair, and then click Next.