none
Software runs at Admin Level

Question

• Hello everyone,

So I am a beginner in the IT field, I have been doing it for right at a year. My problem is One of my clients just received  a new management software for there practice, The software is on Server 2012 R2 Standard, It uses SQL 2008 R2 for the database.

The practice has 11 users so I had set up ADDS, The problem I run into is the software has to run at Admin level, So when a domain user clicks the icon to run the software, I get the UAC popup asking for the Domain Admin username and password.

Is there a group policy that I can give a user that will let the user run that software at Admin, without exposing the Admin credentials to everyone.

oh yea,  Each Workstation has software on it that allows it to communicate with the server side management software. 

I have UAC and windows firewall disabled on each workstation, but when my domain user connects there UAC is turned on.

I hope this makes some sense,  Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks Michael.

Sunday, September 20, 2015 2:48 PM

Answers

All replies

• Can you make user as administrator on their work station.

To do this, open comupter management -> local Users & groups -> Groups-> and select administrators.

Add the users [domain user account] to this group. This will give admin access to users and they should be able to run the application / software as administrator.

Monday, September 21, 2015 2:11 AM
  • Hi Maptech,

Thanks for your post.

You may try to configure some of the policies to control the UAC prompt. However, this may reduce the security of the system.

You could check if you  follow the steps below and change the registry. (before change registry, you need to backup)

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-vista/how-do-i-change-the-behavior-of-the-user-account-control-message

https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd835564(WS.10).aspx