none
How to connect 25 Local Domains to a Master Domain to implement same policy?

    Question

  • We have 25 location where IT infrastructure exists, at these locations we had deployed Local Domain (separate at each location), these Domain servers doesn’t communicate with any Master Domain Server. At these locations we have DHCP service enabled only for Laptop Users. Most of the Laptop users are registered in DHCP Servers where they usually travel so once they enter in location there Laptop is auto connected to the DHCP server and gets the local connectivity.
    Sunday, April 16, 2017 10:39 AM

Answers

  • Hi

     What do you mean with same policy from master domain??If i understand correctly you need to configure same GPO's but your domains different.So for your environment you can configure same policy's on all locations.(DC's.)

     But the ideal configuration should be,you need a root domain and has child domain's.Then you can configure general rules for all locations same,then configure specific rule's by location.Also you can configure RADIUS for dhcp for different locations with centrally and configure the policies.(Of course you also need compatible network devices like radius devices.)


    This posting is provided AS IS with no warranties or guarantees,and confers no rights. Best regards Burak Uğur

    Sunday, April 16, 2017 9:31 PM
  • We have 25 location where IT infrastructure exists, at these locations we had deployed Local Domain (separate at each location), these Domain servers doesn’t communicate with any Master Domain Server. At these locations we have DHCP service enabled only for Laptop Users. Most of the Laptop users are registered in DHCP Servers where they usually travel so once they enter in location there Laptop is auto connected to the DHCP server and gets the local connectivity.

    Your issue is not clear. If you have 25 domains (islands) you can not connect them together using any method. What you have to do is to create a root domain, and start migrating the resources of first domain to your root domain. Once everything are migrated and placed in appropriate OU's and all services are stable with no error, you can move to next domain and repeat the process.

    If you consolidate all domains into a single domain, then you can have different sites for each location and a couple of DHCP servers for each locations. However the latter can be done without consolidation. But it will make things much simpler. You can read more here:


    Mahdi Tehrani | | www.mahditehrani.ir
    Make sure to download my free PowerShell scripts:

    Monday, April 17, 2017 4:54 AM
    Moderator

All replies

  • Hi

     What do you mean with same policy from master domain??If i understand correctly you need to configure same GPO's but your domains different.So for your environment you can configure same policy's on all locations.(DC's.)

     But the ideal configuration should be,you need a root domain and has child domain's.Then you can configure general rules for all locations same,then configure specific rule's by location.Also you can configure RADIUS for dhcp for different locations with centrally and configure the policies.(Of course you also need compatible network devices like radius devices.)


    This posting is provided AS IS with no warranties or guarantees,and confers no rights. Best regards Burak Uğur

    Sunday, April 16, 2017 9:31 PM
  • We have 25 location where IT infrastructure exists, at these locations we had deployed Local Domain (separate at each location), these Domain servers doesn’t communicate with any Master Domain Server. At these locations we have DHCP service enabled only for Laptop Users. Most of the Laptop users are registered in DHCP Servers where they usually travel so once they enter in location there Laptop is auto connected to the DHCP server and gets the local connectivity.

    Your issue is not clear. If you have 25 domains (islands) you can not connect them together using any method. What you have to do is to create a root domain, and start migrating the resources of first domain to your root domain. Once everything are migrated and placed in appropriate OU's and all services are stable with no error, you can move to next domain and repeat the process.

    If you consolidate all domains into a single domain, then you can have different sites for each location and a couple of DHCP servers for each locations. However the latter can be done without consolidation. But it will make things much simpler. You can read more here:


    Mahdi Tehrani | | www.mahditehrani.ir
    Make sure to download my free PowerShell scripts:

    Monday, April 17, 2017 4:54 AM
    Moderator
  • Hi,

    Just checking in to see if the information provided was helpful. Please let us know if you would like further assistance.

    Best Regards,

    Alvin Wang


    Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help.
    If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

    Sunday, April 23, 2017 2:57 AM
    Moderator