What’s the Minimum Bandwidth Needed? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone.

I have a question regards Skype for Business bandwidth requirements on a meeting (not a broadcast) that has 200 - 300 users internally invited to it.

I am not an expert so apologies in advance for he basic question but though that maybe someone who knows more about Skype for Business could pitch in with what they deem to be accurate.

Regards this (relates to server): http://lyncinsider.com/reference/calculate-bandwidth-youll-need-skype-business/

What’s the Minimum Bandwidth Needed?

According to Microsoft, the minimum bandwidth requirements for Skype for Business (Server) deployments are:

Provision the network links to support throughput of 65 kilobits per second (Kbps) per audio stream and 500 Kbps per video stream, if they are enabled, during peak usage periods. A two-way audio or video session uses two streams, so a simple audio/phone connection will require 130Kbps to cover each stream. Video will likewise use 1000 Kbps total to carry an upstream and downstream connection.

To cope with unexpected spikes in traffic and increased usage over time, Skype for Business Server media endpoints can adapt to varying network conditions and support three times the throughput for audio and video while still maintaining acceptable quality.

We don't have server, we are all cloud fro Skype for Business. Is there anything we should be aware of if we have a skype meeting booked with 200 - 300 users?

If a user at a specific site has low bandwidth does this affect others, IE only as good as the poorest connection?

Can someone please point me in the right direction or give me some best practice relating to skype meetings with hundreds of users on the call?

Thanks very much for taking the time to read and reply

Monday, September 3, 2018 10:07 AM

All replies

• Hello!