Securing Domain, Users/ Groups, etc. RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to administering a Windows server domain and Active Directory and have a couple of questions.  I am a 1 man show at a company with only 50 users, 1 domain, and 1 domain controller (well there is a backup).  Am I correct in saying that I don't need to bother with the "Builtin" section of AD?  All of the groups that concern me are in the "Users" section?

On my network everyone has limited local user rights.  When I want to do something that requires administrator priveleges on a PC I will log in as the domain admin.  Is this OK?  If not what admin account should I use?

I read that I should disable or rename the Guest and Administrator accounts (located in the Users section of AD). Can the Administrator account just be renamed without reprocussion or should I create another Administrator account?

I log into the servers using the domain admin account.  I hear I'm not supposed to do that.  But if I create another account with administrator rights won't I have to make it a member of the Domain Admin's group anyway? 

Should I be accessing the servers using an account that's part of the Domain Admin's group or is there another type of Admin account I should be using?

I read that any services that run under the existing domain admin account should be reconfigured to run under a service account.  How do I create a service user account and won't I have to create that account as part of the Domain Admin group?  So why do it?

I believe the Domain Admin's password has been used long enough that it may be more public then I was aware.  All of these questions stem from researching how to change the Domain Admin password.  I would like to make sure I am making us more secure but obviously have some learning to do. 

Thanks for all the help,
    MJ

Wednesday, September 2, 2009 5:07 PM

Answers