Running ESEUtil in parallel on multiple databases / log files for verification RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am a newbie to Exchange server and wanted to know if it is okay to run multiple instances of ESEUtil in parallel for database / log file verification. The goal is to complete the backup verification faster. Is this supported?

Thanks,

Anagha

Tuesday, October 2, 2012 6:41 PM

Answers

• Hi Anagha,

Sorry for delaying response.

I click on the link and I cannot open it, either. However, I can open it by copy the URL to a new IE page. Strange.

Or you can just search the "Exchange 2007 / 2010: Windows Server Backup and Performance Issues" in Google to open it.

"For Exchange 2007 and 2010, can we skip running ESEUtil to verify the backups?"

As the blog said:

In many cases the performance issues coincide with the consistency check portion of the Exchange backup.  Remember that using Windows Server Backup to backup Exchange is essentially a 4 step process:

1)  Volume Shadow copy is made of the Exchange data on the host where the backup is initiated.

2)  All Exchange log files and database files in the backup set must have a consistency check performed.

3)  The data on the drives is written to the desired backup media.

4)  Backup complete is performed allowing for log truncation activities (if applicable).

Frank Wang

TechNet Community Support

• Marked as answer by Anagha_12 Monday, October 8, 2012 5:03 PM
    Monday, October 8, 2012 2:32 AM

All replies

• I don't think you can accomplish this, when running ESEUTIL against given DB, the given DB should be in Lock stage and you should not be able to do anything within until ESEUTIL completes its assigned task.