SCCM client fails to register correctly RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to ConfigMgr and am building an SCCM 2012 environment at the moment. We don't have an internal PKI so I've configured the environment to use HTTP rather than HTTPS. I've tried pushing a client to a PC in our environment and the client appears to install successfully. However, I see the following error on the server.

MP has rejected registration request due to failure in client certificate (Subject Name: <COMPUTER NAME>) chain validation. If this is a valid client, Configuration Manager Administrator needs to place the Root Certification Authority and Intermediate Certificate Authorities in the MPÆs Certificate store or configure Trusted Root Certification Authorities in primary site settings. The operating system reported error 2148204810: A certificate chain could not be built to a trusted root authority.

In the Assets and Compliance -> Devices view SCCM says the PC does not have a client installed and I am unsure as to how to proceed. Any suggestions as to how to get things working would be very much appreciated.

Thanks.

Monday, September 17, 2012 1:47 PM

Answers

• Do you have a auto-enrolled certificate to domain clients?

Think its pretty safe to test disabling of the option. As you dont have  a internal PKI infrastructure anyhow, site systems shouldnt currently be communicating over HTTPS

• Marked as answer by Andy_M Tuesday, September 18, 2012 2:07 PM
    Tuesday, September 18, 2012 11:58 AM
  • After I uninstalled the AIS client I rebooted my PC. I then went into the Local Computer certificate store to find that the certificate had been removed. I then checked the SCCM console and my computer had successfully registered itself with SCCM. Many thanks to Per and Torsten for their assistance with fixing this one.
    Tuesday, September 18, 2012 2:07 PM

All replies

• Have you added any client push installation parameters?
    What does ClientIDManagerStartup.log (on the client) tell?