Script to check file share RRS feed

• Question

• I have a vbscript that I am using to check for the existance of three files on a share and then write to the ops manager event log whether each of the files is found and whether it has been modified in the past 20 minutes.  When I run the script locally, logged into the agent computer with the SCOM admin account, it completes successfully and writes a healthy informational event to the logs for all three files saying they exist and have been modified recently.  However, when I set SCOM up to execute this script via a rule, it runs correctly, but logs an error to the logs saying the file was not found for each of the files I provided to the script. 

It sounds like a permissions issue to me, but I just wanted to see if maybe there was something I am missing.  When the rule is targeted at a certain Windows Server, it is the SCOM action account that executes the script on the local machine right?  If I need to post the script, I can do that too.  Just let me know if you need to see it.

Thanks
    Monday, October 26, 2009 5:01 PM

Answers

• Hi,
    I think you could also solve that with a run as profile, so you use another account when running that check-file-share-script on that machine.
    Anders Bengtsson | Microsoft MVP - Operations Manager | http://www.contoso.se
    • Proposed as answer by Dan Rogers Thursday, October 29, 2009 2:42 PM
    • Marked as answer by Cole W. _ Monday, November 2, 2009 7:26 PM
    Monday, October 26, 2009 6:40 PM
  • Hi Cole,

Yes, I agree with sorabh_ms about dividing a problem into smaller parts. For the beginning I would confirm that the rule is executed with a proper RunAs account. In order to do it you can try to include the following information to your event:

----------------------------------
    Dim wshNetwork
    Set wshNetwork = WScript.CreateObject("WScript.Network")
    WScript.Echo wshNetwork.UserName ' add UserName to your event...

Thanks,
    Zaki