none
Cannot connect to Data Source in PPS Dashboard Designer RRS feed

• Question

•  

Hi,

I'm a beginner in PPS Monitoring and I'm trying to connect a Data Source (SQL2K5 database and AS2K5 Cube). I get the following error :

The PerformancePoint Server could not connect to the specified data source. Verify that either the current user or application pool user has Read permissions to the data source, depending on your security configuration. Also verify that all required connection information is provided and correct.

I looked up for this error and I found 2 workarround for this issue :

1- In the application pool Identity tab, change the Network Service account to a domain account and grant the new account membership to the BPMDeveloper role in PPSMonitoring system database

2- keep Network Service account and grant him a db_datareader privilege to the DB I'm trying to access.

Both workarround didn't work. Do you have any other solution for this issue?

Do you have any example of connection strings?

Regards

Sami ASSI

Wednesday, March 19, 2008 8:40 AM

Answers

• Yes I think that is your problem.

You don't have configured access to your OLAP database on SSAS.

You can achieve this by using SSMS and connect to SSAS.

Then on your OLAP database add your application pool account to any of roles.

Configured roles (if any exists) are located in Databases Tree in the following location:

Databases/YourDatabaseName/Roles

More details you will find here

http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms175386.aspx

You can also check if there are any problems with lack permissions by launching SQL Server Profiler (connect to Analysis Services).

There will be errors visible while accessing your OLAP database from PPS.

I hope this helps.

Best regards,

Radoslaw Lebkowski

Wednesday, March 19, 2008 1:07 PM

All replies

•  

Hello Sami,

In default settings PPS Monitoring use application pool identity account to access your data sources (e.g. OLAP database).