New installation win7 32 bit but cPU high and laptop hot RRS feed

• Question

• I've upgraded an Acer from XP to win 7 home premium 32 bit, got an expert to install the drivers, and noticed the system was slow and  the laptop got hot after a short while (30 minutes).  Looked at CPU which varied between 9 and 65%, average about 45%, and while trying to determine the effect of changing from Aero to basic  desktop, got it up to 100%. Removed most gadgets on the desktop.  All to no avail.

Laptop doesn't feel reliable anymore.  Didn't recognise an external drive twice (paging error) and it's generally unhappy. 

I saw most of the CPU was being hogged by good old searchfilterhost.exe. I thought that had been resolved with win 7.  I studied the various posts online, unclicked XML file (though it came back), stopped media player shared app, and reduced the number of files and folders to be indexed.  It began again. Laptop is now faster but remains warm and CPU is still far too high. I let index run in the hope that when it's finished, it will calm down. When it gets hot,  I switch it off.    Search has now indexed about 30000 files (so has some time to go) but CPU is still high and interestingly, is not really affected by me using the laptop. It almost never reverts back to 0-5%.

I have ESET AV and had windows defender on. (Switched that off to see if it makes a difference). Scanned.  Nothing of note found. 

I don't wish to lose my laptop by overheating so am a little worried.  I can disable windows search but I find it really helpful.  Troubleshooter found nothing. 

Would love advice.  Posts re this issue tend to be old. My installation is new and I have relatively few apps and prgrammes.  RAM is 3 GB. Slow processor but enough for win 7.

Another laptop with win 7 64 bit is just fine. Searching has been completed though.

Friday, March 21, 2014 6:20 PM

Answers

• Hi,

My bad. Apologize.