SharePoint Error when accessing page. RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to sharepoing, just starting.

I installed SharePoint 2010 Server on my Windows 7 machine..

i am just going through some tutorials, when i try to access a page on my test sharepoint site...i get the error

Could not load file or assembly 'Microsoft.SharePoint, Version=14.0.0.0, Culture=neutral' or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified.

Troubleshoot issues with Microsoft SharePoint Foundation.

Correlation ID: 39445602-0039-4d28-8e09-46770e67d0dc

I am getting same error even when i use console application just for testing..it seems like its not able to find the assembly..it is there, i have referenced it in my project and project does build and deploy without error.

Saturday, December 3, 2011 11:01 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Go to Run. Type assembly. This will open the GAC. Check if Microsoft.Sharepoint dll is there or not. If it is not in the GAC then go to

12Hives folder and then open ISAPI folder. There you will find the Microsoft.SharePoint dll. Copy this dll to GAC.

DO IISReset and then open your web.config of the web application

Check if you have a safe control entry for this dll.

If it is there then its fine else make the following entry in the <SafeControls> tag

<SafeControl Assembly="Microsoft.SharePoint, Version=11.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=71e9bce111e9429c" Namespace="Microsoft.SharePoint" TypeName="*" Safe="True" AllowRemoteDesigner="True"  />

Do iisreset.

Please let me know if it still doesnt work.

Sunday, December 4, 2011 4:59 AM
  • typing assembly in Run did not open GAC.

However, I did check the C:\Windows\assembly folder and all the Microsoft.SharePoint.*.dlls are there.