none
Deployment Toolkit and WDS RRS feed

• Question

• I have been a desktop admin for a while but only image PCs once a year, so please bear with my ignorance.

I understand the deployment workbench: here I can import stock OSs from a DVD, import captured WIM files, import drivers and create task sequences.

From the documentation I have seen, after updating the deployment share in the Workbench, you replace the boot image in the Windows Deployment Services console. Some documentation/YouTube videos mention the Install Images as being necessary to image a machine.

I just imported a stock Windows 10 OS (downloaded from the Volume Licensing Center) and created a task sequence. I updated my Deployment Share in the workbench, and replaced the boot image in the WDS console. I haven't done anything in the 'Install Images' portion of the WDS console. 

As you can see all that is present are an offline and online Windows 7 image. It has been a year since our last deployment cycle and I can't remember what all I did here.

I do know that I was able to PXE boot to the deployment server and select the Windows 10 task sequence and it installed just fine. 

What am I missing about the basics of (or the relationship between) WDS and the Workbench?

The below thread suggests that WDS service provides the PXE and WinPE functionality, along with the transport of the boot and OSs listed in the Workbench, and that WDS functions don't all need to be used.

https://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/5fdc529f-81ce-43c5-bb69-ba28be63843f/use-microsoft-deployment-toolkit-with-windows-deployment-services?forum=itprovistadeployment

Thanks--

• Edited by Tom8080 Friday, April 1, 2016 12:49 AM
    Thursday, March 31, 2016 8:24 PM

Answers

• First off, fyii... I'm still learning much on the topic. And I help admin at a small site but can offer this info from my (limited) experience