locked
Disk protection on when turned off RRS feed

  • Question

  • Have installed SS and only set up user profile protection and NOT set up disk protection. ONce we lock the user profile it is behaving as if disk protection is set on.
    What is going on and how do we stop DP running

     

     

    Wednesday, March 25, 2009 3:35 PM

Answers

  •  

    Hi krtcomputers, thanks for the post. I'd like to inform you that if you lock a user, it will look like if the WDP is turned on. I've quoted the following paragraph in the handbook regarding the function and the difference between lock user and WDP:

     

    On the General tab, under General Settings, select the Lock profile to prevent the user from making permanent changes check box to remove cache files or system history created by the user when the user logs off from the current session. We recommend that you limit the permanent changes made by users on a shared computer by locking the user profile.

     

    Feature

    Similarities

    Differences

    When applied

    Locked Profile

    Removes changes user has made to the user profile. Cache files, global history, and environment settings are cleared or restored to the default state.

    User profile is restored to the default state configured by administrator.

    At log off of user account.

    Windows Disk Protection

    Removes changes a user has made to the profile, to the system partition, and any files or data the user has saved on the shared computer or to another partition or drive.

    If Remove all changes at restart option is selected, restores the entire system partition to the original state configured by the administrator.

    At restart of shared computer.

     

    Hope this helps!


    Sean Zhu - MSFT
    • Marked as answer by Sean Zhu - Thursday, April 2, 2009 2:17 AM
    Friday, March 27, 2009 6:22 AM